October 6, 2010

In a routine!

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:37 pm by svalter

We have officially made it through two word study cycles in my classroom and have started our third, and things are finally running smoothly!  Students have almost mastered all of the routines, and I am definitely seeing some learning taking place.

Here are some things that I think are going very well right now:

  • Using our word study contracts for accountability
  • Assessing kids in a small group (I’m doing this instead of Spelling City this year because it’s a little easier for me, but I like both ways!)
  • Have 4 groups that meet every other day

Here are some things I’m still working on:

  • Assessing with mystery words (my students are still doing very well with their word sets, but frequently make errors on these words)
  • Integrating grammar in a meaningful way (interactive writing is going well for me, but it’s SO SLOW!)
  • Reaching my most outlying students

What is going well for you?  What would you like to continue working on and discussing?

Leave a Reply

